My New Favorite Coffee Recipe–Pinterest Inspiration Week #1

by shelbysawyer

I’m so guilty of spending countless hours on Pinterest only to do a few of the wonderful ideas I pin. It is a mid-year’s resolution of mine to complete one thing off of Pinterest per week. This will probably last until the internet blows up, or the beloved site ceases to exist! So anyways, I had a strong desire to have coffee, and it just isn’t economical to drive all the way into town from where I live to spend the little bit of money I have on coffee (especially since my printer needs ink). Away to Pinterest went my happy little fingers! Any excuse to be on that site is welcome to me (sick, I know). So after searching through some coffee boards I came across a blog post with some simple and helpful coffee ideas! The link to the original post is here. I strongly recommend bookmarking this page because all the coffee recipes look delicious!

So I decided to make the Caramel Syrup, and here’s what I did!

Step One

Boil one cup of water on the stove.

Step Two

Stir in 1 cup of sugar.

Step Three

Stir in 3 tablespoons of brown sugar.

Step 4

Let simmer for 10-15 minutes. I only did 10 minutes for mine because my stove doesn’t like to simmer!

Step 5

Add a tablespoon and a half of Vanilla Extract.

Step 6

Stir well and let cool.

Step Seven

While your syrup cools brew your favorite coffee.

Step Eight

Grab your favorite mug.

Step Nine

If you like sugar in your coffee, then now’s the time to add it! I prefer to have my sugar in the cup when the hot coffee is poured in, so the sugar starts to dissolve immediately. This is also the only way I like to make sweet tea. There’s just nothing quite like it!

Step Ten

I put how much milk I wanted to use in a container, and then put it into the microwave for one minute. Be sure to watch it because you don’t want it to overflow! Then pour into your coffee.

Step Eleven

Add however much syrup you want and stir! The recipe calls for 2 tablespoons per cup of coffee or coffee/milk mixture, and that’s what I did. It tasted amazing, and there’s still syrup left over for the rest of my pot! 🙂

